Menu

About Me

Ashley CollinsI grew up in Lakewood, Washington, the youngest of four children, and the only girl. I was a ferocious tomboy, trained by my brothers to keep up in all sports and outdoor activities. I learned to hunt and fish early, but loved animals too much to ever shoot them. We had a plethora of pets growing up which defined my idea of a complete childhood, including, beyond the regular dogs and cats, a pig, a goose, hamsters, rats, guinea pigs, box turtles, a variety of birds, and a pony when I started to ride. My favorite childhood book was My Family And Other Animals by Gerald Durrell (younger brother of Lawrence Durrell), who gave me a lens from which to view my environment that made perfect sense to me. I stole his title for my first blog.

I was private school educated and then graduated from Stanford University, with a B.A. in Anthropology, with illusions of grandeur that I would write for National Geographic while on exotic digs in Africa. Unfortunately when I arrived in New York City fresh from college, I learned that the editorial offices had recently moved to Washington D.C. I took a job as an editorial assistant at Vogue magazine which was very Devil Wears Prada, down to the clogs and ugly sweater, before I raided the Vogue closet with the help of my fashion assistant friends. I quit the magazine shortly after Anna Wintour arrived from London, when it became apparent that I wasn’t getting a writing job in the Features Department with one clip to my name. I ghost wrote a book on the Achille Lauro hijacking that the author unfortunately didn’t publish, and then married and moved to London.

My then husband and I had our three children in the eight years we lived in the UK, returning to the Northwest in our early thirties. We raised our kids in Seattle, an hour from where we both grew up, around mountains and water and big trees. I started and stopped some writing projects over the years, too entangled in domesticity to focus clearly enough, but then began writing in desperation when they all turned into teenagers. I started my blog to practice for an audience, although my followers are largely comprised of family members so I’m not sure they count. After twelve years in Seattle we moved again, to Connecticut this time, where I now reside with my youngest child as well as all the pets, including two dogs, a cat, a rabbit, and a horse. I am currently working on a memoir.

Below is a video of my horse Tomasa and I competing in the 1.35 meter Amateur Jumper Classic in Wellington, Florida.